Freshman Award

Freshman award

This $300 award is intended to encourage incoming freshmen to Collins to engage in the community in multiple ways, by joining various existing student groups, by developing new initiatives, by the completion of a thoughtful Q project that builds community at Collins, and/or by taking on a position of student leadership.

Fill out our award application form

Freshman award recipients

Formerly the Candace Bertotti – Ellen Goldberg Q-Project and Q-Instructor awards


  • Heidi Dargle: Editor of The Dancing Star and supporter of student mental health in Collins through her Q-project
  • Levi Gettleman: Editor of the Lantern yearbook, co-programmer in BOEP, and active contributor to many Collins initiatives including a challah baking and educational event as his Q-project
  • Frances Sheets: active first year member of SustainCollins and Collins staff photographer for the Lantern yearbook

2019: Savannah Claxton: for services on the Board of Educational Programmers, as Treasurer and Chair of Community Council and co-founder of the Baking Club

2018: Morgan Heck: involved in Arts Council, Philanthropy Council, Board of Educational Programmers, helped with Trick or Treat for The Rise, copy editor for The Pipe and The Barrow, created a very popular/successful coloring book ("Collins Colors") for her Q-project, future center desk worker, future welcome week assistant

2017: Devon Fisher: Co-Chair of E-Force coordinating clothing swap, hiking trip and movie showing, volunteer for Philanthropy, member of Conduct Board

2016: Lucy Battersby: hosted an Arts and Humanities Focus Group in Collins as her Q-project which then led to membership on the newly formed campus-wide Arts and Humanities Council, Arts Council member, joined Literary Arts group (Writer's Society) at Collins, helped host a poetry showcase in the Coffeehouse, campaigning to become VPIA at Collins

2015: Veronica Bone: volunteered with Trick or Treat for The Rise, Arts Council member, Dance Coordinator, has organized several dance workshops for the community, member of BOEP

2014: Q Project: Iain Donkin and Hannah Hadley – Terrarium or Aquatic Biosphere, Q Instructor award: Nandita Chittajallu

2013: Q Projects: Connor Leigh (“Get Mugged” discount program at the Chesh), Tyler Zerbe and Kimberly Beard (Collins symphony), Kristin Truelove (GLBTQ Safezone)

2011: Megan Burger, Nelson Keller, Joseph Linnemeier, Jamie Phipps, Drew Wehrle