Ernest and Eva Bernhardt-Kabisch Award

Ernest and Eva Bernhardt-Kabisch award (academic excellence)

This $300 award is for a current Collinsite who combines academic excellence with involvement in the Collins Community. Although not a GPA contest, the awards committee will look at the applicant’s/nominee’s transcript.

Apply through IU Scholarships

Ernest and Eva Bernhardt-Kabisch award recipients

Formerly the outstanding seniors award


  • Lydia Allerellie: Majoring in Psychology with a minor in Studio Art; Founders Scholar; Q Instructor; Cheshire Cafe Co-Manager; active BOEP member.


  • Lydia Allerellie: Majoring in Psychology with Studio Art and Data Analysis minors; Q-Instructor; Cheshire Cafe Co-Manager; Board of Educational Programming Programmer; Arts Council member.


  • Lexi Baker: Double major in Psychology and Criminal Justice recently accepted into the Clinical Psychological Science Certificate program; Executive Dean’s List and Founders Scholar; active member of the Board of Educational Programming, secretary of Community Council, and The Pipe and The Barrow copy editor; creator of Academia Week.


  • Kyle Kristoff: Dean’s list, a freshman pursuing a BS in microbiology and a BSPH in epidemiology; philanthropy council member; community council chair
  • Yash Agrawal: For going above and beyond the call of duty in contributing to the academic community at Collins
  • Pragya Jain: For going above and beyond the call of duty in contributing to the academic community at Collins


  • Kirsten Chandler: Dean’s list, a junior majoring in Psychology and Spanish with a minor in counseling; welcome week volunteer; upcoming Q-teacher; local volunteer with Bloomington South Marching Band


  • Bethany Habegger: Dean’s list, Hutton Honors college, participant in Hart showcase committee, selected to be in the painting B.F.A. program, with art history minor and plans for an arts administration certificate; member of Arts Council, held positions of Visual Arts Coordinator and Vice Chair, on Vision Committee, teaching assistant at Herron High School


  • Sierra Witham: junior majoring in English, minoring in music, and in the process of declaring an individualized major in feminist rock criticism, 3.966 GPA and Executive Dean’s List every semester up through application date, Q-instructor, Co-Director of Collins Philanthropy Council


  • Jonathan Van Hecke: business major, French minor, Honors College, Provost Scholarship, Germanic Studies Knudsen Prize, CLLC’s Audio Production Coordinator, coordinator for talent shows and guest performances, member of Arts Council, Director of Finance for BOG; Fee Committee Chair


  • Kae Bonaguro: 4.0 GPA, two-time IU Founders Scholar, Executive Dean’s list for three consecutive semesters, welcome week assistant and future welcome week co-chair, E-Force Co-Director, BOEP programmer, Cheshire Cafe barista and future co-manager


  • Jesse Grantz: pursuing a BS in Neuroscience, minor in Religious Studies and a General Honors Notation in pursuit of a career in healthcare, Conduct Board Chair, Collins delegate to RPS Meal Plan Committee, Co-Captain of the Men’s Little 500 Team for Collins, Center Desk attendant, future President and Q-instructor at Collins


  • Samantha Loza: secretary and co-chair of BOEP, a Q-199 instructor, and Welcome Week assistant. Worked with the Hogwarts Week Committee and at the Center Desk. She was the 2013 National American Miss Indiana and a Hudson & Holland Scholar

2013 (first year as academic excellence award)

  • Emily Francisco: Welcome Week publicity coordinator and co-editor of the Columns, as well as a Q-instructor for multiple semesters


  • Elizabeth Danielson
  • Sarah Epplin


  • Monica Debbeler


  • Jimmy Hennes
  • Julie Rawe
  • Sarah-Anne Lanman
  • Tim Gross


  • Daniel Berlin
  • Janet Hamilton
  • Gretchen Sneegas


  • Lindsey Charles
  • Julie Euber
  • Maggie Miley


  • Charles Benson
  • Erin Farlow
  • Colin Jorgensen
  • Owen Sutkowski